Events

Recommend this page

Louise Bourgeois. The Heart Has Its Reasons

03.03.2021 - 31.03.2021 every Wednesday, Thursday, Friday, Saturday and Sunday
Display all data
  • Wednesday 03 March 2021
  • Thursday 04 March 2021
  • Friday 05 March 2021
  • Saturday 06 March 2021
  • Sunday 07 March 2021
  • Wednesday 10 March 2021
  • Thursday 11 March 2021
  • Friday 12 March 2021
  • Saturday 13 March 2021
  • Sunday 14 March 2021
  • Wednesday 17 March 2021
  • Thursday 18 March 2021
  • Friday 19 March 2021
  • Saturday 20 March 2021
  • Sunday 21 March 2021
  • Wednesday 24 March 2021
  • Thursday 25 March 2021
  • Friday 26 March 2021
  • Saturday 27 March 2021
  • Sunday 28 March 2021
  • Wednesday 31 March 2021
This winter, Hauser & Wirth brings the work of one of the most celebrated artists of the 20th Century, Louise Bourgeois, to the Swiss Alps.

Available to experience at the exhibition space Tarmak22 in Gstaad and online, the exhibition takes its title from Blaise Pascal’s well-known phrase: «The heart has its reasons of which reason knows nothing». «The Heart Has Its Reasons» features a selection of important sculptures and drawings from the artist’s oeuvre spanning from 1949 until 2009, and explores themes central to her practice. The motifs that unify the presentation; the couple, the paired form, the house, the bed, landscape, and human anatomy, are justified in the dynamic interplay between the binary oppositions — mind and body, geometric and organic, male and female, conscious and unconscious — that animate Bourgeois' work as a whole. Above all, this exhibition speaks about Bourgeois' need for love, the «polar star» she could not live without.

To ensure a safe and positive experience, please make an appointment to visit the gallery. For this please contact gstaad@hauserwirth.com or +41 79 362 09 27
Reservation required
Event Locality
Airport Gstaad-Saanen
Tarmak 22
3792 Saanen
Mobile: +41 79 362 09 27
gstaad@hauserwirth.com
Information
Hauser & Wirth
Vieux Chalet
Oberbortstrasse 24
3780 Gstaad
Tel.: 033 748 62 20
gstaad@hauserwirth.com
Booking
Airport Gstaad-Saanen
Tarmak 22
3792 Saanen
Mobile: +41 79 362 09 27
gstaad@hauserwirth.com
Download
Press Releases

back