Come up, slow down

Recommend this page

Unwind instead of non-stop action

In the early days, guests used to vacation for several weeks at a time in Gstaad: they went for walks and played tennis. They wore white, for elegance rather than for sporting reasons, their faces were tanned and they laughed in a carefree way. Or they skied and in the evening enjoyed the international clientele in the stylish restaurants and lively bars. Fortunately everything has remained the same today.

Of course, Gstaad has also moved with the times, so that the village also offers all today's modern amenities. And yet the special quality of life that the microcosm of Gstaad radiates has been preserved right up to the present day. It is the attitude of the bon viveurs of bygone days. At a time when places like Gstaad were hideaways for people seeking rest and relaxation and for entire families from London to New York. These visitors discovered a new, peaceful and fun-loving world that has remained intact even up to today.

Wellness and Beauty

Gstaad has officially been designated a "Wellness Destination" since 2008. For visitors that means unwinding off the slopes, mountain trails, tennis courts and golf courses. Seven specialist spa &and wellness hotels and the Gstaad Sports Centre are ready and waiting to look after visitors' well-being. Ten other places also have spa and wellness facilities and offer relevant services. The Wellness& Spa Hotel Ermitage in Schönried is even a "wellness pioneer": the very first indoor and outdoor brine pools in Switzerland opened here in 1979.

Chalets and Genuine Alpine Villages

You can still find them here – genuine Alpine villages. Chalets are a hallmark of the Saanenland. Their rich ornamentation, flower decorations in summer and dusting of snow in winter makes these villages feel homely. You'll feel that you've come home when you sit in front of the crackling fire in the snug, warm chalet and watch the snowflakes dancing outside of the window. Perhaps it is this harmony that has attracted so many families to Gstaad for many generations.

Can do, but don't have to

200 kilometres of ski runs and the only glacier region in the Bernese Oberland. Freeride ski area and innumerable ski-touring routes. 170 kilometres of cross-country trails, 10 tobogganing runs and 200 kilometres of winter hiking routes. 300 kilometres of summer hiking routes, a biking region par excellence and golf in the nature reserve. While this is remarkable, it's not unique. Rather your approach to starting and ending every day in Gstaad. And the feeling that you can do everything, but that you don't have to do anything to have a great day.

Known as the "Wimbledon of the Alps": the Suisse Open Gstaad
Known as the "Wimbledon of the Alps": the Suisse Open Gstaad

Top Events Without Affectation

Even the events – whether sporting or cultural – are understated in Gstaad. The prestigious Swiss Open Gstaad, for instance, the" Wimbledon of the Alps", has exuded a serene sovereignty since 1915 – rather like Gstaad itself. People don't shout about the attractions here". What counts is friendly enjoyment without affectation. And so often it's cow bells that ring out in public, in place of trumpets being blown! Come up, slow down.

Sitemap

Gstaad

The region has a further 9 chalet villages alongside Gstaad, located at an altitude of between 1,000 and 1,400 metres. Yet despite its style and class, Gstaad has remained genuinely Alpine and down-to-earth. It is proud of its tradition and lives and breathes it every day.

Over a thousand cultural and sporting events are available to visitors every year, including top events with an international reputation. In addition, visitors will find first-class hotels, outstanding shopping facilities along the traffic-free promenade and an airport in Saanen.

Contact

Gstaad Saanenland Tourismus
Promenade 41
CH - 3780 Gstaad
Tel +41 33 748 81 81
Fax +41 33 748 81 83
info@gstaad.ch

Travel & location

Newsletter

Menu

Come up, slow down

Diese Seite empfehlen

Entschleunigung statt Action-Marathon

Mehrere Wochen am Stück urlaubte früher die Gästeschar in Gstaad: Man ging flanieren und spielte Tennis. Die Kleidung war blütenweiss, mehr elegant als sportlich, die Gesichter gebräunt und das Lachen unbeschwert. Oder man ging Skifahren und genoss abends die internationale Gesellschaft in stilvollen Restaurants und fröhlichen Bars. Zum Glück ist bis heute alles so geblieben. 

Natürlich ist auch Gstaad mit der Zeit gegangen, so bietet der Ort alle modernen Annehmlichkeiten unserer Zeit. Und dennoch: Das spezielle Lebensgefühl, das der Mikrokosmos Gstaad ausstrahlt, ist bis heute erhalten geblieben. Es ist das Lebensgefühl der Bonvivants vergangener Zeiten. Als Orte wie Gstaad vor allem Hideaways für Erholungssuchende und ganze Familien von London bis New York waren. Diese Besucher entdeckten eine neue, friedliche und lebenslustige Welt, die bis heute intakt geblieben ist. 

Wellness und Schönheit

Gstaad ist seit 2008 offizielle "Wellness Destination". Für die Gäste heisst das: Entschleunigung auch ausserhalb der Pisten, Bergrouten und des Tennis- und Golfplatzes. Dafür sorgen sieben spezialisierte Spa & Wellnesshotels und das Sportzentrum Gstaad. Zehn weitere Betriebe verfügen über Wellness-Einrichtungen und bieten entsprechende Dienstleistungen an. Das Wellness & Spa Hotel Ermitage in Schönried ist sogar ein Wellness-Pionier: Hier wurde 1979 das erste Schweizer Hallen- und Frei-Solbad eröffnet. 

Chalets und echte alpine Dörfer

Hier gibt es sie noch – echte alpine Dörfer. Chalets sind ein Markenzeichen des Saanenlandes. Reich an Ornamentik, im Sommer mit Blumen geschmückt und im Winter mit Pulverschnee bestäubt, machen sie die Dörfer so heimelig. Wenn man vor dem knisternden Kaminfeuer im mollig-warmen Chalet sitzt und den Schneeflocken bei ihren Wintertanz zuschaut, ist man bei sich angekommen. Vielleicht ist es diese Harmonie, die gerade viele Familien seit Generationen nach Gstaad zieht. 

Chalets gehören zum Markenzeichen des Saanenlandes.
Chalets gehören zum Markenzeichen des Saanenlandes.

Alles können, aber nichts müssen

220 Kilometer Skipisten und einziges Gletscherskigebiet im Berner Oberland. Freeride-Skigebiet und unzählige Skitour-Routen. 170 Kilometer Langlaufloipen, 10 Schlittelwege und 200 Kilometer Winterwanderwege. 300 Kilometer Wanderwege im Sommer, Bike-Region par excellence, Golfen im Naturschutzgebiet. Das ist zwar ausserordentlich, aber nicht einmalig. Dafür schon eher die Gelassenheit, mit der man in Gstaad den Tag beginnt und beendet. Und das Gefühl, zwar alles zu können, aber nichts zu müssen, um einen tollen Tag zu verbringen. 

Als "Wimbledon der Alpen" bekannt: das Suisse Open Gstaad
Als "Wimbledon der Alpen" bekannt: das Suisse Open Gstaad

Top Events ohne Star-Allüren

Auch die Veranstaltungen – egal ob sportlich oder kulturell – verbreiten in Gstaad Understatement. Das prestigeträchtige Swiss Open Gstaad zum Beispiel, das "Wimbledon der Alpen", strahlt seit 1915 eine unaufgeregte Souveränität aus – ganz wie Gstaad selbst. Hier werden keine Attraktionen "abgerattert". Hier zählt sympathischer Genuss ohne Star-Allüren. Und statt Trompete geblasen, wird im Publikum nicht selten die Kuhglocke geschwungen. Come up, slow down. 

Sitemap

Gstaad

Neben Gstaad umfasst die Region weitere 9 Chaletdörfer, die auf 1'000 bis 1'400 Meter gelegen sind. Die Marke Gstaad steht heute weltweit für schicken Charme und diskreten Luxus mit Understatement. Aber trotz Stil und Klasse: Gstaad ist echt alpin und bodenständig geblieben. Man ist stolz auf seine Tradition und lebt sie.

Mehr als 1000 Veranstaltungen stehen Gästen jährlich zur Verfügung, darunter Top Events von Weltformat. Dazu finden Besucher eine Spitzen-Hotellerie, ausgezeichnete Shoppingmöglichkeiten entlang der autofreien Flanierpromenade und einen eigenen Flugplatz in Saanen.

Kontakt

Gstaad Saanenland Tourismus
Promenade 41
CH - 3780 Gstaad
Tel +41 33 748 81 81
Fax +41 33 748 81 83
info@gstaad.ch

Anreise & Lage

Newsletter

Pauschalen