Portrait

Recommend this page

Gstaad: "Last paradise in a crazy world"

The holiday region of Gstaad enjoys a high level of prestige and international renown. In spite of this, it has remained truly Alpine, with its chic charm, British understatement and authentic traditions. Or as acting legend Julie Andrews once said: "Gstaad is the last paradise in a crazy world".

Gstaad - Come up, slow down

Ten chalet villages make up the holiday region of Gstaad. Visitors will find an unparalleled range of leisure activities on offer here amidst the gentle and unspoiled Alpine landscape.

According to legend, created by the hand of God

The region has a further 9 chalet villages alongside Gstaad, located at an altitude of between 1,000 and 1,400 metres. According to legend, God wanted to take a short rest whilst creating the world. The imprint of his hand thus shaped the Saanenland region. His five fingers formed the valleys, with Gstaad nestling in their midst. It is hard not to believe that supernatural forces are at work when you let your eyes wander over the beauty of Nature. And nestling amidst the lakes and mountains lie the homely, Alpine villages with their characteristic chalets.

This historic photograph shows students of the "Institut Le Rosey", which has been linked to Gstaad since 1917. (Photo: Institut le Rosey)
This historic photograph shows students of the "Institut Le Rosey", which has been linked to Gstaad since 1917. (Photo: Institut le Rosey)

International schools laid the cornerstone for Gstaad becoming a classic holiday resort

The international schools in the region laid the cornerstone for the tradition of Gstaad becoming a holiday destination of world class renown: "L’Institut le Rosey", which has relocated its campus to Gstaad for ten weeks every winter since 1917, the "John F. Kennedy School" in Saanen and the "Gstaad International School". Their students, parents, teachers, relatives and friends have become Gstaad's ambassadors and carry the Gstaad lifestyle out into the wide world.

Prestige meets Alpine Authenticity

The Gstaad brand today is synonymous with stylish charm and discreet understated luxury, which Gstaad's famous royal guests and visitors from the worlds of film, art, sport and science have come to appreciate. Yet despite its style and class, Gstaad has remained genuinely Alpine and down-to-earth. It is proud of its tradition and lives and breathes it every day. Gstaad has 200 farms, 80 of which still use Alpine pastures and around 7000 cows in the region. At the same time, a range of diverse leisure amenities deliver first-class leisure and recreation in summer and in winter. Over a thousand cultural and sporting events are available to visitors every year, including top events with an international reputation. In addition, visitors will find first-class hotels, outstanding shopping facilities along the traffic-free promenade and an airport in Saanen.

Visitors will find outstanding shopping facilities along the traffic-free promenade in Gstaad.
Visitors will find outstanding shopping facilities along the traffic-free promenade in Gstaad.

Alpine Wellness Centre

Seven specialist spa & wellness hotels together with Gstaad Sports Centre are the flagships of the wellness resort. Ten other places also have spa and wellness facilities and offer relevant services. Ultimately visitors to meetings, incentives events and conferences can also take advantage of these health and wellness facilities.

The numerous gourmet restaurant offer a culinary delight.
The numerous gourmet restaurant offer a culinary delight.

Culinary Olympics

Gstaad is a stronghold of top-class cuisine. The leading Gault Millau restaurant guide regularly awards high point scores to many head chefs in Gstaad. What is more: Top international chefs cook in the "Saveurs Gstaad" Gourmet Festival.

Gstaad has charmed visitors with its Alpine authenticity since time immemorial.
Gstaad has charmed visitors with its Alpine authenticity since time immemorial.

Gstaad for the Whole Family

Families make up 30 percent of visitors to the holiday region of Gstaad, many of whom have been coming for generations. It therefore goes without saying that there is also a great range of fun activities for our younger guests as well. From playgrounds to petting zoos and river rafting in the summer to fun parks in the winter: there is just so much for kids to do in and around Gstaad.

Sitemap

Gstaad

The region has a further 9 chalet villages alongside Gstaad, located at an altitude of between 1,000 and 1,400 metres. Yet despite its style and class, Gstaad has remained genuinely Alpine and down-to-earth. It is proud of its tradition and lives and breathes it every day.

Over a thousand cultural and sporting events are available to visitors every year, including top events with an international reputation. In addition, visitors will find first-class hotels, outstanding shopping facilities along the traffic-free promenade and an airport in Saanen.

Contact

Gstaad Saanenland Tourismus
Promenade 41
CH - 3780 Gstaad
Tel +41 33 748 81 81
Fax +41 33 748 81 83
info@gstaad.ch

Travel & location

Newsletter

Portrait

Gstaad: «le dernier paradis dans un monde fou»

La prestigieuse région de Gstaad jouit d'une renommée internationale. Malgré cela, elle est restée réellement alpine et attire les visiteurs grâce à son charme chic, son flegme anglais et ses traditions authentiques. Comme l'a formulé la légendaire comédienne Julie Andrews: "Gstaad is the last paradise in a crazy world".

Gstaad - Come up, slow down

Dix villages de chalets parsèment la région touristique de Gstaad. Ici, les visiteurs peuvent trouver une variété unique d'offres de loisirs au milieu de paysages alpins magnifiques et originels.

Créé par la main de Dieu, selon les légendes.

En plus de Gstaad, la région compte 9 autres villages de chalets situés entre 1000 et 1400 mètres d'altitude. La légende raconte que Dieu a voulu un peu se reposer en créant le monde. C'est pourquoi l'empreinte de sa main a formé le Saanenland. Les cinq doigts ont formé les vallées et Gstaad s'est développée au centre. Et l'on pense effectivement à des forces surnaturelles lorsque l'on aperçoit la beauté de la nature. Entre les montagnes et lacs , on trouve les intimes villages alpins et leurs chalets.

Cette photo historique montre des élèves de l'Institut le Rosey, qui est lié à Gstaad depuis 1917. (photo: Institut le Rosey)
Cette photo historique montre des élèves de l'Institut le Rosey, qui est lié à Gstaad depuis 1917. (photo: Institut le Rosey)

Les écoles internationales sont à l'origine d'un lieu de vacances classique

Les écoles internationales de la région ont posé la première pierre pour que Gstaad devienne une destination touristique traditionnelle et renommée. "L’Institut le Rosey", qui depuis 1917 délocalise son campus à Gstaad pendant 10 semaines en hiver, la "John F. Kennedy School" à Saanen et la "Gstaad International School". Leurs élèves, les parents, les professeurs, les proches et les amis sont devenus des ambassadeurs de Gstaad et diffusent cet esprit partout dans le monde.

Le prestige rencontre l'authenticité alpine.

De nos jours, la marque Gstaad signifie charme chic et luxe discret. Les célèbres visiteurs issus de familles royales, du cinéma, de l'art, du sport et de l'économie savent apprécier ces qualités. Mais malgré toute son élégance et sa classe, Gstaad est restée réellement alpine et authentique. On est fier de ses traditions que l'on vit encore de manière authentique. Dans la région, on trouve 200 exploitations agricoles, 80 alpages encore exploités et environ 7000 vaches. Dans le même temps, en été comme en hiver, il existe de nombreuses activités de loisirs qui permettent de passer des vacances parfaites. Chaque année, les visiteurs peuvent assister à plus de mille manifestations culturelles et sportives, avec notamment des évènements de renommée internationale. Les visiteurs peuvent également profiter d'une hôtellerie haut-de-gamme, d'excellentes possibilités pour faire du shopping le long de la promenade piétonne et d'un aéroport situé à Saanen.

À Gstaad, les visiteurs pourront faire du shopping le long de la promenade piétonne où ils trouveront de nombreuses boutiques.
À Gstaad, les visiteurs pourront faire du shopping le long de la promenade piétonne où ils trouveront de nombreuses boutiques.

Métropole bien-être alpine

Les sept hôtels bien-être spécialisés avec spa &et le centre sportif de Gstaad sont les portes-drapeaux de la destination bien-être. Dix autres exploitations disposent d'installations de bien-être et proposent des prestations de services correspondantes. Les personnes se rendant à des meetings, des stages de motivation et des congrès peuvent également profiter de cette offre bien-être.

Les nombreux restaurants gourmet offrent un plaisir raffiné du palais.
Les nombreux restaurants gourmet offrent un plaisir raffiné du palais.

Olympe culinaire

Gstaad propose une offre gastronomique haut-de-gamme. Le guide gastronomique Gault et Millau récompense régulièrement des chefs cuisiniers en leur attribuant un nombre de points élevé. Mieux encore: lors du festival pour gourmets "Saveurs Gstaad", où de nombreux grand chefs internationaux sont présents pour cuisiner.

Depuis toujours, Gstaad a conservé son authenticité alpine.
Depuis toujours, Gstaad a conservé son authenticité alpine.

Gstaad pour toute la famille

30% des visiteurs de la région de Gstaad sont des familles qui viennent souvent ici depuis plusieurs générations. Il est donc évident que les offres d'activités pour les petits soient également amusantes. Terrains de jeux, mini zoo ou rafting en été, parcs de loisirs en hiver: à Gstaad, les enfants seront comblés.

Sitemap

Gstaad

En plus de Gstaad, la région comprend 9 autres villages de chalets situés entre 1000 et 1400 mètres d'altitude. Aujourd'hui, la marque Gstaad est connue dans le monde entier pour son charme chic et son luxe discret. Mais malgré toute son élégance et sa classe, Gstaad est resté réellement alpin et authentique. On est fier de ses traditions que l'on vit encore de manière authentique. Les visiteurs peuvent profiter de plus de 1000 manifestations tous les ans, dont certains évènements de renommée internationale. Les visiteurs peuvent également profiter d'une hôtellerie haut-de-gamme, d'excellentes possibilités pour faire du shopping le long de la promenade piétonne et d'un aéroport situé à Saanen.

Contact

Gstaad Saanenland Tourismus
Promenade 41
CH - 3780 Gstaad
Tel +41 33 748 81 81
Fax +41 33 748 81 83
info@gstaad.ch

Arriver & emplacement

Newsletter